Why I don’t believe in luck.

One phrase we overuse in this society is, “Good luck”.  Though well intended it is ridiculous, especially among Christians.  Forgive my saying so if it has caused you offense.

I just don’t believe in luck!

Why?  For starters I don’t have any of this mythical creature we call luck.  Not even a little pinch.  Perhaps I sound pessimistic but I would say quite the opposite is true.  I am not left in the hands of mere chance.

God says in Isaiah 46:9-10 “Remember the former things of old; for I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me, declaring the end from the beginning and from ancient times things not yet done, saying, ‘My counsel shall stand, and I will accomplish all my purpose.’ “

Psalms 115:3 says, “Our God is in the heavens; he does all that he pleases.”

I don’t believe in luck because I have something way better!

Let me tell you not believing in luck has saved me a lot of time, money and fretting.  I don’t gamble in the hopes I’ll get lucky.  And I certainly don’t gamble in the hopes I’ll get Jesus!

I already have Him. 

It’s great, I don’t have to chase luck around in hopes of a glimpse when I can rest in the risen Lord and know he by definition is predisposed to bless (the Biblical meaning of God’s grace).

Such sweet freedom I have in Jesus.

So, if you wish to say something kind to me and the words, “Good luck!” roll off your lips I may just give you a grin.  Who needs luck anyway?

Dear Jesus, thank you that I am not at the mercy of make-believe things or concepts.  Thank you that my life is not left to chance but instead, it is orchestrated by you. Amen.

One thought on “Why I don’t believe in luck.

Leave a Reply

