Dishwasher Detergent the Cheap Way

I am one frugal gal.  While on pinterest the other day, I found a simple recipe for homemade dishwasher detergent.  I have put it to the test and it works great!  I made a minor adjustment that omits the spray bottle so all you need is:

Borax

Arm and Hammer Super Washing Soda

A container to hold the detergent

White vinegar

I recommend buying the vinegar at Costco because you can get two huge bottles for less than $4.  You can find the Washing Soda and Borax at your local grocery and plan to spend about $5 total for those.  Since I’m frugal I like to re-purpose containers whenever practical.  In this case, I cleaned out an empty Simply Orange (juice) bottle and put my detergent in there.  Then I just pour the vinegar into my dishwashers’ rinse aid compartment.  A tsp of the detergent is all you need.  One warning, other do-it-yourself dishwasher detergents on-line call for some amount of Dawn dish soap.  In my opinion, Dawn is for hand washing dishes ONLY.  You run the risk of a very big mess.  Also, the suds can do strange things to the components of your dishwasher including the drain system.  In the long run that could cost you money in repairs.

For $9  you have enough dishwasher detergent for a looong time.  I would say somewhere around a year.  Maybe, if I don’t forget, I will let you know when I finally run out. 😉

Here’s the link for the recipe:

http://sparklypolliwog.blogspot.com/2012/11/easy-diy-dishwasher-detergent.html

Dear Jesus, thank you for sites like pinterest and easy ways to save money.  I pray you will continue to show me how to best steward the gifts you give our family. Amen.

Leave a Reply

