Why and How to Coupon.

Luke 16:10, “One who is faithful in very little is also faithful in much.”

Matthew 25:21, “Well done good and faithful servant.  You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much.  Enter into the joy of your master.”

I sent myself through college and did it on as few loans as I could possibly take.  This meant I had around $17 a month to put toward food.  Even for a single person that is a lean budget.  If the average family of four spends $500 a month on food then that would be $125 per person.

I knew what it felt like to be hungry and broke.

God has blessed me abundantly.  I now have a degree and a family.  My husband works hard and is able to provide very well for us.  I get to buy good quality food without fear of breaking an impossible budget.

So why do I coupon now?

When living on the $17 a month grocery budget I faced two big goals: to steward what God gave me well and to eat as healthfully as possible.  Those are the two reasons I coupon today.

I believe as long as I coupon wisely I can continue to steward the money God gives me wisely.  I have a few rules.  I don’t buy a product we don’t actually use and need.  I avoid impulse buys.  I keep a binder full of coupons so I am organized.  I call it, “My Other Wallet.”

couponbinderAs for the healthy eating part, I enjoy splurging on good organic produce more easily because we are saving on other things.

So far I have Rite Aid figured out and really like their system.  They run in store specials that I clip coupons to match whenever possible then look for items that are in highlighted boxes in their flier.  They often have a buy $x of these items and get $x in “Up rewards” a.k.a. Rite Aid store credit (that loads to your store card the following day).  This can be really cool.  So far I have gotten a completely free razor (not disposable) in the brand I like and two free eye shadows (in the brand and color I wanted).  I also got $2 in Up Rewards for “buying” these items.  Essentially, Rite Aid paid me to take things I wanted home. Pretty neat huh!?!

To be sure couponing could suck up too much time. Unless….

You check local coupon bloggers that get paid to do the work for you. I like this one:

http://thecouponproject.com/

Some folks buy several copies of the Sunday paper.  This may be a good idea but I cannot bring myself to do it.  Instead I clip coupons from the local paper that is delivered for free.  I have a couple girlfriends that are willing to save their copies of the local paper and give them to me.  This way I have at least three copies of the coupons I want.  This comes in handy when a store runs a great deal and I want to buy more than one.  Many coupons limit you to four like coupons so I don’t bother with saving jillions of Soft Scrub for example.  I save four and call it good.  I should add I do not wish to create an in home grocery store or amass so much that we pay a monthly storage unit fee!  That doesn’t seem like good stewardship, it’s more like hoarding.

From now on I intend to continue using Thursday’s to share tips for saving money and if there’s a great couponing tip I’ll include it too! 🙂

Here are some hot deals for this week:

Albertson’s has Tillamook butter on sale for $1.88 each (limit 4)!  Walmart has Softsoap bottles on clearance (7oz size) for $0.94 and if you have a $0.75 off coupon like me that works out to $0.19! Rite Aid has Edge Shave Gel on sale for $3.49 less their in ad coupon of $2 and the manufacturer coupon for $1 off  makes it cost $0.49 (or less if you have a store card discount)! 

Dear Jesus, thank you for being so generous with me.  I pray that you will show me where you want me to spend the money that you give me and give me wisdom to glorify you.  Couponing has been fun so far and I am thankful for a new way to make money stretch. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Why and How to Coupon.

  1. Erica you are such a wise woman. I sure wish your parents had been more generous with you. I am so proud of who you are. xxoo

Leave a Reply

