Ladybug Cookies, Fun Food Friday’s

I know real food is really important. Please forgive my indiscretion here as we embark on a very short, extremely awesome and fail proof cookie recipe from, eh’ hem, a cake mix!
Maybe you are amazing at making cakes from scratch. If so, I am standing up to applaud you right now. I admire you. I am definitely NOT you. My cakes to this point in my cooking career are, well, poor.
I recently scratched Hollandaise off my “too difficult” list! (That’s another post, stay tuned!) But, cake from scratch? No dice.

What’s all this talk about cake have to do with the most amazing and fail proof cookies?

I’m glad you asked.

While planning for my buddy, Karlene’s, baby shower I came across this gals blog. The baby shower was ladybug themed so I was looking for food with spots and along came a spider, no a ladybug…. cookie!
With a little tweaking, I learned you can turn pretty much any cake mix into awesome cookies. Hooray!
So here’s what you do…

Pink Ladybug Cookies:
Pour strawberry cake mix into a big bowl.
 Add 1tsp. baking powder
Add 2 large eggs
Add 1/3 Cup oil, use coconut oil if it makes you feel better 😉
Add a dash of vanilla extract
 Mix by hand until all ingredients are incorporated and mixed well.
 Scoop in rounded mounds onto an ungreased baking sheet then bake 10 minutes per batch at 350 degrees farenheit.
Remove from the oven and let rest for 3 minutes on the cookie sheet.
Get out your bag of chocolate chips!
 After your cookies have rested 3 minutes push chocolate chips onto them flat side up, three to a side (these will be your ladybug spots).
Transfer to a cooling rack.
 Cut diagonally through a Ziploc sandwich bag and snip the corner close to the end to make a small hole. Then melt about 1/2 Cup of chocolate chips in the microwave on high for 30 seconds. Stir till the chips are all melted and smooth. (Our microwave is a low power model, reduce your time to 10 or 15 seconds if you have a powerful microwave or you’ll get burnt chocolate) Then spoon the melted chocolate into your cut Ziploc bag and you can “pipe”, or draw, a letter “Y” down the center of each cookie. Ta-Da you have ladybug cookies!

close-up ladybug cookie lady bug cookie platter

Here’s the link to the original blog post:
http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/01/23/strawberry-chocolate-chip-cookies/

Thank you Sally!

Here’s what Gideon did while I made cookies:

Giddo with potatoes

My mother-in-law shared a Reader’s Digest article with me that explains potatoes should not be stored in the refrigerator.  I promptly pulled them out of the fridge and placed them in a basket in a dark spot in my kitchen.  Looks like I’ll need to find a different place to store them. 🙂

I decided to give this awesome recipe a try with a different cake mix, chocolate angel food cake.  Great news!  As long as you don’t trip over a potato on the way from the oven to the cooling rack, the cookies are amazing.

Here’s a picture of my double chocolate chip cookies:

Cake Cookies

YUM!

In other food news, tomorrow we are helping slaughter chickens with our friends.  Pray for us that we’re able to be a huge help. 🙂

Dear Jesus, thank you for helpful bloggers and their awesome ideas.  Thank you that Karlene’s ladybug themed shower went great and everyone had fun.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

