Chicken Day, Mix-It-Up Monday’s

Bart and I have wanted to raise meat chickens but there were two limitations: city law prohibits it on our property and we had no idea what we’re doing.  I figured that we would have to resign ourselves to buying commercial “organic” chicken for a whole lotta money.  I hoped one day we would get a house on more land where we could realize a dream of real organic and fresh chicken.

Then…

Last Valentine’s Day my buddy, Megan, called me.  I teased her that I would be her Valentine and was happy to hear from her.  Through the receiver came the most wonderful words, “We are thinking of raising organic chickens.  Do you guys want to go in on it?”

Heck yeah!!!

It wasn’t long before Megan and her husband Ehren, decided they were for sure.  We enjoyed dinner at their house and went over details.  Soon after that they bought birds.

Last Saturday, June 8th, the chickens were ready for slaughter.  We put on old clothes and I wore rain boots (I definitely recommend that by the way.).  After a full days work 31 chickens were slaughtered, butchered, and vacuum sealed.

My brother-in-law, Boe agreed to help us out.  While I am not entirely sure why he was so kind, I’m glad he came.  The five of us worked the first three or so hours slaughtering and dressing all the birds.  After that, I had to go home to take care of my boys and relieve Grammie who so graciously babysat for me.

I am happy to say this experience was AMAZING! I am so thankful for our buddies.  I am thankful to have learned to dress a chicken.  And I must report that the ordeal was actually fun.  I wouldn’t do it every weekend but I hope we get to go in on birds with Ehren and Megan next year.

I can hardly wait to cook up some of this delicious meat.

Megan, happens to also be a professional photographer.  You can check out her website here.  She and my brother-in-law graciously documented the day and provided photo’s for me to share. YIPEE!

WARNING! THESE PICTURES ARE OF CHICKENS BEING PROCESSED.

Scroll down at your own risk. 🙂

The Cornish X before (photo compliments of Boe)

The Cornish X before (photo compliments of Boe)

Bart bleeding the chickens (photo compliments of Boe)

Bart bleeding the chickens (photo compliments of Boe)

Scalding a bird to loosen the feathers.

Scalding a bird to loosen the feathers.

Megan took a picture of Boe taking a picture of the birds in the plucker.

Megan took a picture of Boe taking a picture of the birds in the plucker.

While it may look like Boe was busy smoking and taking photo’s I can assure you everyone, including Boe, was hard at work.  He just took a few pictures when his hands weren’t too dirty. 🙂

Gotta pluck the left over feathers.

Gotta pluck the left over feathers. (photo compliments of Boe)

bnw bird bird on the table

I'm pretty weirded out.  This is just before Ehren showed me how to dress my first bird.

I’m pretty weirded out. This is just before Ehren showed me how to dress my first bird.

close-up dressing bird me with chicken head close up removing inerds

Some folks eat this stuff. Not these folks.

Some folks eat this stuff. Not these folks.

Everyone is hard at work. (Photo compliments of Boe)

Everyone is hard at work. (Photo compliments of Boe)

All cleaned out.

All cleaned out.

Full freezer!

Full freezer!

These give you an idea of what all we did.  First, the birds got their necks cut, then they were scalded and plucked, dressed, rinsed thoroughly and finally put in a cold bath until time to portion out the meat. 🙂

Dear Jesus, this was awesome.  Thank you for friends, family and great food.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “Chicken Day, Mix-It-Up Monday’s

  1. Good job Bart, Erica, and Grammie! PS If I could have a role it would be co-sitter for those two awesome guys Hank & Gideon! (and Boe, & Megan, & Ehren – did a great job too)! Erica I am liking this June so much more than last June 🙂 xxoo

Leave a Reply

