Giving Thanks In All Circumstances

Yesterday around 2:30p.m., Bart messaged me saying he was on his way home with a tummy bug. Both boys were sleeping soundly and the sun was out. Soon after Bart got home and retreated to our room, Hank woke up crying. Upon entering his room I found he had erupted. After wiping him off we headed to the bathroom so he could have a bath. Then I ran around cleaning up and setting up. Then for several hours I held the bucket for Hank. It is heart breaking to see your baby miserable. Then I would run to the other end of the house to see how Bart was. I am thankful he is pretty self-sufficient. I am also thankful that Gideon was delightful and fun to keep me distracted a bit.

So how do you be thankful in all things? Especially when you know there’s a fair chance you’ll be hugging the toilet soon?

First off, God say’s we can.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 says, “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

Also, perspective helps.  Knowing God is present and will be with me if I have to be wretched sick too.  There’s a certain perspective I take with me now from having been so sick before.  Now a day of stomach flu seems smaller than the five I spent vomiting in the hospital.  God showed up then, he’ll surely be here now and tomorrow and the next.

I have started drinking kombucha, as some of you already know.  Well, my buddy who drinks it quite a bit is the only one in her family to have avoided this virus.  Hmmm… I am thankful for kombucha.  Here’s a toast!

I am thankful because God has made me able.  God has given me provision that I may serve my sick three-year old and the rest of my family.  I am blessed beyond measure.  My mother-in-law graciously brought some needed items over.  When asked how much I owed her she replied, “Nothing.”

I can understand why she wouldn’t want me to hand her anything. 😉  Maybe later when we’re not all germy.

I am thankful to have so much snuggle time with Hank.  This was a special treat.  Gideon is cuddly but Hank is not.  Yesterday was special.  It felt good to be there for him and be close.

I learned something new too.  Don’t put hand sanitizer by an open door, even within several feet.  Ants love the stuff and I wound up smooshing twenty or so.  Not my idea of fun times.  Who would have thought hand sanitizer would attract ants?  Now I know.

Dear Jesus, it’d be super if Gideon and I could be spared this go around of the stomach flu.  Thank you that Hank was such a champ.  Thank you that our carpets and sofas were spared!  Thank you that Bart made it home without any problems.  Please bless him at work that he won’t come back to a nightmare mounding on his desk.  But if he must then please strengthen him that he will be ready to tackle it when he returns.  If I must get sick too, please let it be when Bart is here to help out.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Giving Thanks In All Circumstances

Leave a Reply

