Hollandaise of Champions, Fun Food Friday’s

hollandaiseAbove you see a photograph of MY homemade (from scratch) authentic hollandaise sauce on top of traditional Eggs Benedict.

Let me start with saying that this was on my “too difficult” list for a long time.

Years.

I used to work at an upscale restaurant called 13 Coins and would enjoy Eggs Benedict every chance I got.

Now that I know what is in it, I am thinking I will enjoy it less frequently. 😉

A couple of weeks ago I got the courage up to give this French sauce a try.  Afterall, I am a quarter French.  With the help of the world-wide web and a  chef who wrote an amazing article on authentic hollandaise, I felt better equipped to tackle my fear.

Could I really truly make hollandaise from scratch that was thick like mayonnaise?

Praise Jesus, I can now!

Let me tell you it is SO good.

And…

YOU CAN DO THIS TOO!

It turns out you don’t have to be a chef named Pierre to master hollandaise.  I’m sure a purist would disagree but for our purposes here’s what you do:

My Hollandaise Recipe:

  1. Put 3 egg yolks and 2 tablespoons of lemon juice into your (Vitamix) blender.
  2. Whip (on low) the yolks and lemon juice until they turn a lighter yellow
  3. Add a dash of salt and 10 tablespoons warm (not hot!) melted butter
  4. Blend on high for about thirty seconds
  5. Pour mixture into a small pan on your stove over Low heat
  6. Add in a dash of Cayenne
  7. Slowly heat through bringing up to no higher than Med-Low
  8. Stir well scrapping the bottom of the pan
  9. When mixture gets *really thick its ready!

* If your hollandaise goes from thick to lumpy squirt in a little extra lemon juice, then stir well and you will have smooth hollandaise again.  (This is called fixing “broken sauce”.)

I sure hope you’ll give it a shot!  Have a great weekend.

Dear Jesus, I am so excited to be able to finally make hollandaise sauce with confidence.  It is such a treat!  Amen.

One thought on “Hollandaise of Champions, Fun Food Friday’s

Leave a Reply

