Rejoice, A Letter From A Friend

Philippians 4:4-7 says, “Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

As I write this my husband has removed a wailing over-tired three year-old from my arms.  In this loud mess, I pray Gideon will stay asleep.  I am sitting down to write about rejoicing.  Even at the end of a long day, when everyone is tired and I have been asked, “Why?” for the umpteenth time by a boy who doesn’t seem to actually listen to my replies, I hear in my heart, “rejoice the Lord is at hand”.

For the past few months I have been in prayer for, and often thinking of a friend.  I learned that she and I needed reconciliation.

Have you had this happen?

You go along naively thinking things are well, until someone alerts you they are not.

My heart was heavy to learn of her hurting heart.  I prayed through forgiveness half a year ago.  God met me there and answered my prayer for a soft heart with a resounding yes.  With my heart soft I prayed for grace.  I prayed for healing.  I prayed for reconciliation.

Then another misunderstanding happened.  It appears Satan doesn’t take a day off.  Still I prayed knowing God’s will for His children.  I prayed for reconciliation out of faith that God made us sisters in Him.

Then I heard nothing.

For a while.

Faith means you believe when you cannot see.

Today I received a sweet letter from her.

God has made our hearts soft.

I am rejoicing because Satan’s efforts have been thwarted by our mighty king Jesus and reconciliation has come.

Philippians 4:8-9 say’s, “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.”

I will focus on the beauty of God’s grace abounding in my life and the lives of those around me.  I will rest in our faithful king Jesus.

The letter I received leads me to praise our king Jesus and I will think of it and its author with joy.

And when Hank finally falls asleep, I will praise Jesus for that too.

“Why?”

As another friend of mine would say, “Because God.”  😉

Dear Jesus, thank you for the letter I received today.  Thank you for healing our hearts.  Lord, you are the reason we can rejoice.  Thank you that my sister in Christ and I have you and your faithfulness.  Please silence the liar.  I pray we will be diligent to follow your exhortations in Philippians 4:4-9.  Amen.

6 thoughts on “Rejoice, A Letter From A Friend

  1. Erica – this is a very touching post – a great reminder of encouragement and faith in those things that we can either live through with a glad accepting heart or an angry hurt heart. I am so glad you are given the gift of choosing your thoughts and reactions with grace and gladness in Christ. It will keep you from kicking tires :-)!! I am so happy things worked out. xxoo

Leave a Reply

