How To Have Real Joy, Blessed Beyond Measure

Malachi 3:10 says, “Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.”

God exhorts us to generosity in our giving.  To give meagerly takes meager faith.  I have seen my share of lean times.  If I could tithe $20, that was to be rejoiced over.  Giving isn’t just chipping your change into the offering basket.  God calls us to give faithfully knowing God will bless us beyond what we can store up!

Galatians 6:9 says, “And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.”

In light of yesterday’s letter, Galatians encourages my soul.  It is true what God says.

Everything God says is true.

First we accept it on faith and then, because He is generous, we get to see it for ourselves.

Bart has worked diligently at his place of employment.  Often, we pray for the Lord’s favor upon him.  I encourage Bart to do it all unto the Lord.  I pray I will parent our boys with this same heart.

Last week we had the blessed opportunity to give out of faith, generously to some friends in need.  It took faith too, to trust that God had provided what we gave and he would continue to provide.  In my heart I knew God’s blessings would abound and we had joy in knowing we got to take part in serving.  This glorifies God, and from that we get REAL joy.

Yesterday, only a few days after we gave faithfully, God blessed us abundantly!  I cannot disclose more than that but suffice it to say I cried out of joy.

I have seen this come to pass before.

God blesses us repeatedly and in a timely way.

So, if we give and then God gives us back more, what are we to do?

Matthew 25:23 says, “His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.”

It seems to me we are to participate in the joy of our master. 🙂

Dear Jesus, thank you for joy in you.  Thank  you for blessing our family.  Thank you that we get to serve others.  Lord, you know when I was sick others served us, well.  I cried out to you begging to be on the giving end.  You are faithful.  I rejoice because you have inclined your ear to my prayers and granted that I may be used by you to bless others.  Amen.

4 thoughts on “How To Have Real Joy, Blessed Beyond Measure

  1. “Go give to the needy, sweet charity’s bread, for giving is living,” the angel said. “But must I keep giving again and again?” my peevish and pitiful answer ran. “Oh no,” said the angel piercing me through. “Just give till the master stops giving to you.” Your post reminded me of this poem Charity’s dad found in a book the day she was born. I don’t know who wrote it. Anyway, what a beautiful post Erica. xxoo

Leave a Reply

