Fun Food Friday, Garden Update & Celebration Pictures

We will be celebrating the 4th of July over the weekend with Bart’s extended family.  Until this year we have somehow escaped food responsibilities.  While that has been nice, I am excited to contribute.  For the weekend I made a fruit salad with grapes, blueberries, pineapple and honey-dew melon.  I didn’t follow a recipe just bought things that sounded good together and had similar flavor characteristics.  Maybe others would disagree but I think it sounds like a good smoothie too. 🙂  I also made a pasta salad with zucchini from our garden (hence the garden update)!  My brother-in-law, Matt doesn’t like mayonnaise so I decided to go with a pasta salad instead of potato salad.  Here’s hoping he likes it.

While at the store in a sea of shoppers yesterday (July 4th), I called my Mom and she mentioned a “salad” called the Watergate Salad.  I thought it sounded neat and so I purchased ingredients to make it too.

Bing Cherries on top pasta salad in the middle and fruit salad on bottom

Bing Cherries on top pasta salad in the middle and fruit salad on bottom

Raspberry Kombucha

Raspberry Kombucha

Watergate Salad without pecans- peanut free

Watergate Salad without pecans- peanut free

To make Watergate Salad all you need to do is pick up a box of pistachio pudding mix at the store and look on the side of the packaging for the recipe.  You combine mini marshmallow’s, pecan pudding, crushed pineapple with juice, chopped pecans and whipped cream (the recipe calls for whipped topping.) I substituted homemade whipped cream.  If you have a Vitamix blender homemade whipped cream takes about 20 seconds to make.  I omitted the chopped pecans because every package of pecans said “made in a facility that processes peanuts”.  Our three-year old has a severe peanut allergy.  It isn’t worth it to me to include the nuts. 🙂

FRUGAL TIP- The Dollar Tree sells Tupperware that is BPA free.  I found 17 cup capacity containers!

The garden this year has done very well.  My tomatoes are around 3 or so feet tall and there are fruit on the vine.  I’m hopeful for ripe tomatoes.

Here are some photographs of my garden from yesterday:

One of our strawberries

One of our strawberries

blueberries carrots cherry tomato plant

Close-up of my cherry tomatoes

Close-up of my cherry tomatoes

Close-up of my slicer tomatoes

Close-up of my slicer tomatoes

close-up strawberries

Just two peas in a pod

Just two peas in a pod

Kale and Zucchini

Kale and Zucchini

lavendar slicer tomato plant

Spinach, Bush Beans and Chard

Spinach, Bush Beans and Chard

strawberries zucchini

Here are a few photographs from our celebration yesterday at our friends, the Binghams’ house.  Hank is in a pool with his buddy Logan. 🙂

These photographs are compliments of my husband, Bart.

hank and logan hank big smile

Splash!

Splash!

The boys got to do sparklers with a Solo cup to protect their hands. Good idea Mary!

The boys got to do sparklers with a Solo cup to protect their hands. Good idea Mary!

The following photographs are compliments of my buddy Mary:

Bart and me

Bart and me

Gideo watched the fireworks from his carseat.  Tired boy.

Gideo watched the fireworks from his carseat. Tired boy.

Hank and Logan working out a plan. ;)

Hank and Logan working out a plan. 😉

The frog looks concerned

The frog looks concerned

One of my favorites.

One of my favorites.

Dear Jesus, thank you for blessing our garden.  Thank you for the upcoming celebration weekend.  I pray the food I made will travel well and others will enjoy it.  Amen.

One thought on “Fun Food Friday, Garden Update & Celebration Pictures

  1. Wonderful post! Wonderful times! What a precious family! You took such great photo’s. I love the garden, the food you are taking, the pictures of YOU & BART & yepper’s the best of the best – Hanko and Giddy!! I wondered if they would be doing sparklers – I watched a little guy doing one and thought of bguys. XXOO

Leave a Reply

