What Really Matters Anyway?

The internal monologue runs on and on.  All of us, minds buzzing along filled overfull with nonsense.  Our hearts tied up in knots over work, friends, family, enemies, politics, religion, hobbies, successes, failures, fears, doubts, what others have, what we have, what we don’t have, what we think we need, who we think we should be, who we think we shouldn’t be.

All the while God seems silent.

Why?

Do you suppose that He’s concerned with something else?

Perhaps something else matters more than all our hullabaloo.

All our striving is in vain.

Psalm 127:1-2 says, “Unless the Lord builds the house, those who build it labor in vain.  Unless the Lord watches over the city, the watchman stays awake in vain.  It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives to his beloved sleep.”

What really matters anyway?

All this thinking is tiring.  A busy mind, self consumed, is distracted from what God wants.

John Piper says, “God’s chief end is to glorify God and enjoy His glory forever.” 

Unlike us, God isn’t fretting, because He is all-knowing.  Unlike Him, we don’t even know what tomorrow will bring.

It isn’t what car you drive or who likes you that matters.  If we leave this earth hated by some but rich in Godly character, our thoughts immersed in His word, then we have found what really matters.

When I was sick I actually got to a place of disappointment when finally discharged the last time because I knew I would go back to the distractions of life.  The frivolous drama and foolish striving would be waiting to tempt me to give even just a little mental real estate away from God.  I enjoyed in utter dependence on Jesus, a great intimacy with Him.  He did not heal me so I could glorify myself or others.  He did it so I could further enjoy Him and glorify Him.  I so deeply wanted to stay that close to Him, my mind un-adulterated.

My Mom’s cousin having cancer makes me think more about all this.  She is a Christian and her faith is a source of joy for me.  I see that health doesn’t ultimately matter, nor does comfort or ease.

God looks deeper than the temporal, to the character of the man.

1 Samuel 16:7 says, “For the LORD sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the LORD looks on the heart.”

Dear Jesus, thank you for pursuing me through horrible sickness.  I have been thinking about how this time last year I was so sick and facing pancreas surgery.  Thank you for your abounding favor.  Thank you that I am here and get to sing your praise.  I love you.  Please free Sherrie of cancer and sustain her.  Amen.

One thought on “What Really Matters Anyway?

Leave a Reply

