The “I Love You.” Milestone

As parents we are bombarded with lists by the pediatrician, email, television, well-meaning family and friends.  We are constantly told when our children will hit certain milestones.  While walking and waving bye-bye are important, there’s one milestone that beats them all!

Mother’s day 2012, I discharged from the hospital after my first bout of Clostridium Difficile.  At that time, Hank was 26 months old.  I will never forget gingerly crossing the threshold of our home and hearing Hank say, “I love you” for the first time!  The timing couldn’t have been better.  It was like God sent my son as a special messenger that day.  I was weak and frail but rejoicing in those beautiful words.

I feel the need to go off topic for a moment, right here in the middle of this post. 🙂

Today, I am strong.  God has moved mountains.  When Hank first told me he loved me, I was heading into a physical, emotional, and spiritual storm.  God is SUFFICIENT.  I have been carried through.  We are not promised to live a life of ease.  Folks, we’re promised suffering.  God doesn’t promise to bring us around the suffering but HE DEFINITELY  brings us THROUGH the suffering.

My sister-in-law, Lacey, gave me a sweet book she made.  On the back cover it says,

“IF GOD BRINGS YOU TO IT, HE WILL BRING YOU THROUGH IT.”

Amen.

Today is a good day too.  When I put Gideon down for his nap I sang “Good afternoon moon” (a little made up song) and at the end I told him I love him.

Gideon replied, “I wuv you.  Bye.”  My heart just melted.

Such a great milestone indeed!

Dear Jesus, thank you that both of my boys tell me they love me.  Thank you for today.  Thank you that Hank often comes up to me just to tell me he loves me.  I love them so much my heart might burst.  I know this is only a glimpse at your infinite love.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “The “I Love You.” Milestone

  1. How touching and sweet. I am so happy your little guys are there to tell you and Bart that they love you. I am so happy that you are Both healthy and there to hear those precious words. XXOO to all! GidR and HankO – I love you guys too.

Leave a Reply

